Something to Consider Before Posting on Facebook

On a scale of 1-10, how cranky are you on a regular basis? If you’re not sure, take a quick look at your facebook page.

Image

I regret to inform everyone that I no longer drink Miller High Life. It just made us all more cranky. 

I used to be a very negative person. I was happy (or at least I thought I was). But I was constantly looking for the negative. And ohhhh boy, did I find it!

Here’s a secret that you might not know: You find exactly what you’re looking for. If you’re in a bad mood, you’re going to find every tiny thing that’s negative with your day. When you’re in a good mood, same thing! You’re much more likely to notice the sunshine and smiling faces that you’re surrounded by.

Sound familiar? I’ve talked about this before =)

Now let’s go back to facebook: Ever notice how whenever there’s snowy weather, our news feeds are packed with negativity? The following may or may not be real statuses that I read last week:

-So happy to see that it’s snowing in May! #not #thankschicago

-Are you KIDDING me?!

-WTF? I thought we were done with this #movingtoLA

-Can’t believe it’s snowing in May! Can it just be Monday already so we can read Tony’s blog?”

Okay maybe some of these aren’t real. But you get the idea.

Story time! This past weekend at work, one of my coworkers Andrew was serving a couple their breakfast. (UPDATE: Andrew is one of those coworkers that everyone should have. And you’re lucky if you get him as your server). Upon receiving their food, the gentleman decided he wanted to add a side of bacon to his order. After learning how long this would take, he changed his mind and canceled the order (after Andrew had already rang it in, mind you). When it came time for the check, the gentleman informed Andrew that he was unhappy with “how he handled the situation” and said his bacon should have come out anyway.

Image

Me and some of my coworkers. When we’re all together (and not working), we’re usually all smiles. 

We’re going to ignore the fact that there are many problems with this gentleman (along with the fact that I am fuming with rage as I recall this story.) Instead we’ll focus on his comments when it came time from the check: What was he hoping to gain when he pointed out how unhappy he was? A discount? Maybe. But I’m willing to bet he was just upset and thought that it was absolutely necessary to express himself to my coworker.

Back to facebook again: When we post negative statuses, what exactly are we hoping to achieve? Most of the time, it’s the same thing the bacon-less customer wanted: To express ourselves. Yes, we’re allowed to do this. Yes, it’s “our facebook and we can post whatever we want.” (Drink if you’ve heard this before. Finish your drink if you’ve said it yourself.) But ask yourself this – If it’s something negative, is it really worth it?

On another note, none of those statuses that I posted above were real. In fact, I don’t see as many negative statuses anymore. They’re mainly hidden from my feed.

Image

NO! TONY! PUT US BACK IN YOUR NEWS FEED! (Photo credit: Factory Theater)

 

Have a positive week, friends. Regardless of the weather =)

2 thoughts on “Something to Consider Before Posting on Facebook

    • Aww, thank you Courtney! Your comments always make my day. Having my weekdays back has had it’s ups and downs. Mostly ups 🙂 I’ll shoot you a message. I’ve been meaning to get in touch and say hi regardless!

Leave a comment