#gymproblems

I hate my gym.

There’s always something broken. Thank goodness I never use the pool because it’s frequently undergoing maintenance. Hell, even the snack bar has been closed for the majority of the past two years. The locker room is disgusting. It gets ridiculously hot during the summer time. And man, do I hate some of the people who go there. There’s a guy with bleach blonde hair who lifts up his shirt to check himself out as he uses the leg press (I won’t even tell you what he does with his pants). There’s also a trainer who WORKS at the gym, yet still feels the need to grunt after every rep, and then shout out a “WOO!” as he finishes his set. (We’ll disregard the fact that both these men have fantastic bodies, and probably get laid far more than I do)

You may be wondering, “Gee Tony, why are you still going to a gym that you hate so much?” Answer: Because it’s CHEAP. Cheap to the point where I don’t even notice the money being deducted from my bank account. Although that just may be another flaw of mine. But the point is I’m not the richest guy in Chicago. I’m an actor who waits tables to pay the bills. Frequently I take time off for auditions, rehearsals, shows, and classes – and the classes cost more money. At the end of the day, I can get a damn good workout from my stupid gym, despite the fact that it’s insanely hot and I have to look at blondie’s abs if it’s leg day for him. It usually is.

On a side note, I wrote a post last month about how unhappy I am at one of my many survival jobs. I ended the post saying that I would quit as soon as I could, and was planning on heading to another similar survival job. I realized shortly after that doing this wouldn’t bring me any closer to accomplishing my acting goals. Instead it would make it harder to get time off. It would also mean working in the same field that I don’t want to be in. So I’m sticking it out for a bit. Though I’m searching for something to do on the side that I ENJOY doing. This search may take a while.

On a final note, does anyone have any good recommendations for starting up a website? I’m a bit stuck!

Leave a Reply

