An apology to any facebook friends who could care less about baseball

Dear everyone who is friends with me on facebook who isn’t a fan of the Red Sox and hasn’t hidden me on their news feed (yet):

I’m sorry.

I’m sorry that every time you logged onto facebook, you likely saw a status that said something along the lines of “Go Red Sox!” or “drink if you’re a Red Sox fan!” or “WHY CAN’T THE RED SOX WIN SO THAT EVERYTHING CAN BE PERFECT?!”

I realize that my actions may have annoyed the crap out of you. I understand that explaining my passion for baseball will not make up for my actions. However, I hope that doing so will shed some light on my behavior.

First things first, I tweeted a couple of days ago that I grew up thinking I was going to be a baseball player. Not an actor. I was brought to Fenway Park as a baby, so I don’t remember my first game. I just remember cherishing baseball and being in love with the Boston Red Sox.

By the time I started high school, I had given up the dream of becoming a baseball player and was getting more into acting. Despite this, I remained a passionate Red Sox fan who owned far too many Red Sox shirts and jackets (most of which were about five sizes too big for me. You’ll notice this as you scroll down) As I entered college, I wore Red Sox shirts damn near every single day of the week. Here are a few of my default photos from college.

Darts picture

Green Monster

Nose picture

Wally

I know, right?

As I started making friends, I quickly bonded with other actors. Eventually I also started growing close to the techies. While there were actors who liked sports, there were far more techies who shared my passion for baseball and the Red Sox.

In 2007, I grew even closer to some of them as we won our second World Series title…at least in our lifetime.

136_506228113199_9263_n

Parade 1

We wouldn’t win another for a while, but that didn’t stop me from wearing the shirts.

New years dancing

Kevin's grad party

…guess which one is me? Also, you can’t tell, but my shoes had Sox logo’s on them too. Obsessed much?

 

And then there was the time I was on TV. See the guy standing in the gray jersey at the bottom? I’m right above him in a white jersey.

TV picture

Look at the score. LOOK AT THE SCORE. THIS GAME WASN’T EVEN CLOSE AND I’M STANDING AND CHEERING!

Then the inevitable happened. I moved to Chicago. Without the Red Sox. I had no friends yet, so I went to a White Sox vs. Red Sox game by myself.

Me and Justin

Justin and Emily

Oh right. I met Justin and Emily. They were both Red Sox fans and were sitting next to me. They were my first two friends in Chicago.

I like to use the phrase “my friends” a lot when I’m writing. I’ve always felt that friendship is one of the most important things to me. So when I moved to Chicago and had no friends, I felt pretty darn lonely. But then I started making friends. Friends who loved Boston sports just as much as I did. Because wouldn’t ya know…there is a RED SOX MEETUP GROUP IN CHICAGO! Through a couple of meet up events, I met some cool people. Which led to meeting more cool people. Which lead to some great times.

Black and Gold shots

Me and Neil

brendans

This one was taken shortly after the Sox won the World Series. 

“UGH. Tony. We get it. You have lots of pictures of Red Sox clothes and pictures that you clearly stole off facebook. What’s the point?”  My point is that I likely wouldn’t have met any of these people had it not been for baseball.

Think about something you’re really passionate about. Chances are you made a lot of friends because of it. What would your life be like without these friends? Personally, I can’t think too much about life without all my theatre friends without crying.

Now don’t get me wrong – just because you’re passionate about something definitely doesn’t mean you need to post about it on facebook all the time. I guess when your favorite team in the entire world wins a championship, you get a bit excited. And when you’re surrounded by people who are as crazy as you….it feels, “SO GOOD! SO GOOD! SO GOOD!”

Thanks for bearing with me, friends.

2 thoughts on “An apology to any facebook friends who could care less about baseball

  1. So enjoyed reading this, Tony! It just made me happy 🙂 And of course, I love seeing photos of Val, Nuttle (sp?), Jennie, and Tom. Awww. So glad your Red Sox have brought you so much friendship and fast times. Good point about letting your passions bring about good people.

    • Thanks Katelyn! I’m always happy when you’re happy. I’m also happy when people spell Nuttall’s name wrong, so I give him a hard time later. I was so busy cutting this post down that I completely forgot to mention that this season also got me back in touch with some of them! Though I’m usually harassing Tom and Stu on a regular basis anyway.

Leave a Reply

