How to Get in the Christmas Spirit Before Thanksgiving Without Getting Pissed That You Have Christmas Spirit Before Thanksgiving

Image

Photo credit: weknowmemes.com

This is a very touchy subject. Be sure to breathe deeply as you read. Take breaks as needed.

My friends, we’ve reached that time of year. It’s almost Thanksgiving. The weather is colder. Some of us have already had our first snow of the year. Many more of us are pissed that we’ve already had our first snow of the year. Regardless, I’m pretty sure all of us have seen a lit up Christmas tree at a retail store already. I’m sure there were many who saw this sign of love, peace, and happiness, and immediately ran outside of the store to purge. After all, why should you have to look at a Christmas tree when it’s not even Thanksgiving?

PSA: You’re allowed to enjoy being in the Christmas spirit before Thanksgiving.

…if you haven’t thrown your laptop out the window in a fit of rage after reading the above statement, please continue on.

When I was a sophomore in high school, I got cast in a production of “A Christmas Carol” at Stoneham Theatre. We spent our first rehearsal singing Christmas Carols and learning the harmonies. I remember everyone leaving in quite the jolly mood.

Upon returning home, I felt odd. I was walking up my front steps, looking at decorations and lights that were still up from Halloween. After all, it was still early November. We still were a couple weeks away from the half day of school, indicating that Thanksgiving was the next day. I loved Thanksgiving. I was in marching band and we got to play at the football game. We always enjoyed a pancake breakfast before the game. On Thanksgiving. So. Cool.

Rehearsals continued. As they did, I couldn’t help but feel excited about all of the Christmas festivities that were about to begin. Yes, there were also Thanksgiving festivities to look forward to. But Christmas is different. Christmas is something special. Unless you pass the house on the Fellsway in Saugus that decorates for every holiday, you’re not going to see many Thanksgiving decorations. (Drink if you know this reference. I miss diving by this house terribly!)

Image

Photo credit: flikr.com (User lehcar1477)

Fast forward to a year later. I got cast in “A Christmas Carol” again! Not only do I get to take part in an awesome show for the second year in a row, but this also meant getting to be in the Christmas spirit early again! After all, I needed an excuse to be in this spirit. Right?

Fast forward another year. I got cast in “Beauty and the Beast” with Boston Children’s Theatre. A great show…but not a Christmas show. Also, I looked like this…

ImagePhoto credit: Boston Children’s Theatre (Alumni Spotlight)

…and you better believe I was still in the Christmas Spirit before Thanksgiving.

Now I’m sure many of you aren’t actors. I’m sure many of you don’t go to see “Christmas Carol” every year. That’s totally fine. Here’s how you can still be okay with getting into the Christmas spirit early without feeling bad about it:

I’m currently taking classes with the Green Room Professional Program under Steven Ivich (I highly recommend this program to any actor in the Chicago area). Something that Steven teaches us is entity work.  We do multiple exercises where we create an entity, eventually using this entity for script and character work. When we return to entity work, we’re instructed not to doing anything to force the entity to come. Instead, we’re told to wait for it to come to us.

I don’t know about the rest of you, but I feel a hell of a lot better letting the Christmas spirit come to me rather than having a corporate retail store tell me how I should be feeling and when. (And for the record, I will NEVER be in the Christmas spirit before Halloween. HEAR THAT WALGREENS??)

So guys, let’s all get in the Christmas spirit – when we’re ready. If you still think that you should only celebrate one holiday at a time, totally fine. Just don’t kick your friends when they start singing “All I Want for Christmas is You” on November 1st.

Oh, and in case you were wondering which Christmas movies I enjoy, I just posted this facebook:

“Anyone here enjoy watching ‘Love Actually’ over some wine? Asking for a friend.”

Merry Christmas a month early, friends!

Leave a Reply

