Stop Telling Me I Don’t Need To Workout

I generally write happy posts. Hence my #MakeSomeonesDay video. I like to try to share my ideas from when I’m feeling happy and full of inspiration in order to make others feel the same way.

That being said, you caught me in a feisty mood. I apologize in advance.

I don’t want to wait tables forever. Or tomorrow, for that matter. I have plenty of goals that I try and work on every day so that this doesn’t happen. Some of them are acting related. A couple are writing related. Some are random things that just make me feel better. For example, I’ve been craving a fun night out with friends. Since I started waiting tables on weekends, going out is rare. And nonexistent on weekends.

Then there are goals that are specific to me and no one else but me. One of these is a health goal. A goal that includes healthy eating and lots of exercise. “But Tony,” my friends tell me, “you’re so skinny! You don’t need to eat healthy! And you definitely don’t need to work out.”

ImageHere’s how I look. With a hatchet. That I wish I could hold while listening to people tell me I don’t need to exercise.    

Let’s stop right there.

I have several reasons for eating healthy and working out. And to be frank, I don’t need to explain for them to be good reasons. But since we’ve gotten this far on the particular topic, I suppose I’ll continue:

When I look my best, I feel my best. This allows me to be creative and do my best work. This helps me with my goals that I mentioned at the beginning. On weeks where I go to the gym four or more times, I normally have accomplished all or most of my weekly goals.

I’ve always wanted a six pack. STOP LAUGHING. Okay fine you can laugh. But it’s true. And I’m finally, finally starting to get one. Sort of. I mean, I can see it.

You’ve never seen me naked. Unless you have. In that case, please feel free to tell me all the changes that need to be made to my body. But if you haven’t, there’s no need to pretend you know how I look in my birthday suit.

Girls are complimenting me on my body. Okay so this is less of an all the time thing, and more of a one time thing. It was photo call for a show I was doing over the summer. I was changing in the house in front of others, because that’s what actors do. And why delay photo call by changing in the bathroom? That’s just silly.

I was getting ready to put on a shirt, when I heard one of the girls in my cast say, “Tony, you have a fantastic body.” Did I really just hear that right? As I was trying to figure out whether or not this was real or just a dream, I heard another girl shout – from the other side of the theatre – “Yeah Tony, you do!”I’m not sharing this to brag. I’m saying that hearing these compliments make me feel good. And it never hurts to hear that other people are noticing your successes.

We’ll ignore the fact that one of the girls had a boyfriend, and the other was married.

Okay. Now that I’m done sharing silly stories, I hope you realize that although I don’t need to workout, I certainly want to. I’ve actually gotten to a point where if I get hurt and can’t stick to my normal workout routine, I tend to fall into a funk and fall off track with my goals. And if I fall off track, that just means I’m going to have to wait tables even longer. And despite that I’ve met some really cool people from work lately, I really don’t want to be there forever.

Or tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

