Don’t Underestimate Your Progress

Today we’re going to discuss the issue of getting frustrated when it comes to our goals. I want you to think of that big, scary goal that you really, really want. (If it helps, use the “ask for it, and then let it go” game.) These goals are big and scary for a reason – they aren’t easy to achieve.

If you’re taking action towards this goal (and I hope you are), give yourself credit for attacking it in the first place. Even if you’re not where you want to be, or even if you’ve fallen off track, you’re chasing it. That deserves acknowledgement.

Second, think about where you are right now on the path towards this goal. Then think about where you were a couple months ago. Are you closer? If you are, that means you’ve made progress. Progress is something we often look past. We’re too focused on the fact that we haven’t reached our goal. So we kick ourselves and get upset that we’re not there yet.

I just finished reading a fantastic book called “The Compound Effect” by Darren Hardy. It talks about how taking those small steps don’t seem like much when we’re taking them. But over time, they add up. And they add up BIG.

“What’s most interesting about this process to me is that, even though the results are massive, the steps, in that moment, don’t feel significant.” – Darren Hardy.

Now I know that most of you think I’m this perfect writer who has a perfect life and everything smells like peaches.

[There is an uproar from everyone reading this blog, as none of them think this is the case. Also, some side comments are made regarding how I always think things smell like peaches.]

I want you to know that this isn’t the case (minus the peaches part). I have a few goals that I haven’t hit yet. And OH MY GOD is it frustrating. To prove my point, I’m indulging in some wine right now. I usually save wine for the week, as weekends are “school nights” for me. But tonight is an exception. Things most certainly do not smell like peaches tonight.

That being said, I’m closer to my goals than I was a month ago. I’m just not seeing results yet. It’s hard not to get frustrated when you really want to hit your goals. But they add up. It just takes time.

Think of some areas that you’ve made progress in. It might make you feel better. And if not…have some wine. (Especially if it smells like peaches). 

Leave a Reply

