When Doing Things The Right Way Doesn’t Work

I’m happy to report I’ve been working more hours for one of my favorite people: Myself. It’s great. I get to work from home, in any room I want, set my own hours, and receive special attention from my boss.

 

Pineapple

Stole this from my boss’s facebook page. So embarrassing. 

 Right now the pay isn’t great – in fact, this month it’s been pretty mediocre. But things are looking up.

In order to take my projects more seriously, I’ve turned things up a notch: I set “business hours” for each project, work from my desk, and do everything to ensure that I’m using my time wisely. I even use an online timer. It feels like I’m actually punching in, and encourages a faster work approach. I cut myself off from facebook and texting until it’s time for a break. If I want some background noise, I stick to music or personal development audio. Admittedly, this is all still a work in progress. But an efficient system, nonetheless.

…except for days when it’s not.

Take yesterday for example. I wake up. I’m tired. I don’t feel like working. Probably shouldn’t have had that extra glass of wine the night before. Another excuse. And another. Getting anything done seems next to impossible.

After several attempts (and failures) to be productive, I tried something different: I worked from the living room.

I sat down on the couch. My posture was terrible (don’t tell my fellow beachbody coaches this). I put on sports radio. I turned off my timer.  I did all the things I wasn’t supposed to do. And it worked.

I didn’t get nearly as much done as I was supposed to. Not to mention, this system would never work on a regular basis. But for yesterday, I needed a different system.

Sometimes going about things the “right” way doesn’t work. When this happens, I like to try and do things the wrong way. This might mean going against the standard approach. But if the right way isn’t working, can it hurt to go about it with a different, opposite approach?

Not only did the couch trick work, but my groove of productivity put me in a better mood. I found myself frustrated each time I “failed” to be efficient. Being upset and negative doesn’t help. It encourages more resistance that keeps you away from doing your work.

My challenge to you: Think about an area or two that you’ve been struggling in. What’s a “wrong” approach you could take to try and tackle it? How can you work on this struggle without feeling frustrated or upset?

 

One thought on “When Doing Things The Right Way Doesn’t Work

Leave a Reply

