What does “success” mean to you?

Story from earlier today:

I started stressing out.

[Guys in the back start grumbling about how I always – ]

SHUT UP.  I’m talking. I started stressing out over things like writing, acting, memorizing, and other creative things. Creative things. Things that six-months-ago-Tony would have killed to be stressed out about. Yet I was focusing on the negatives. And I couldn’t figure out why.

Then it hit me: I didn’t think of any of my creative things as a “success” because they weren’t generating a large income. I had labeled “success” as something fun, creative, but also paid the bills. And right now, these things weren’t paying the bills.

It would appear that I have some work to do. Not just memorizing or writing. Mindset. I need to redefine success. Because if I don’t, who’s to say that I’ll ever really be “successful?”

Here’s the crazy thing: I was doing so good at this earlier in the week! I felt successful going to auditions without worrying about getting cast. I was celebrating replies from writing employers, despite that they were asking about qualifications I didn’t have.

This is the mindset I want to have with all of my work. I recommend you do the same J  

What are some areas you might need to redefine, in order to be successful?

Leave a Reply

