How To Avoid A Letdown For New Year’s Eve

OH MY GOD IT’S NEW YEAR’S EVE.

Okay. You know the drill. When there’s a big event you’re excited for, you have the date circled on your calendar. You put in lots of time and energy just thinking about it. Then there’s planning, lots of messaging back and forth with friends, plus the “Oh my god, what on earth am I going to wear?”(We can’t show up looking like a jackass…)

I experienced something similar last week. It was Christmas morning. Not only was it my first Christmas with family in five years, but it was also my first Christmas with anyone in five years. (Don’t feel bad –it was my own choice). I decided last minute that this this had to be a good Christmas.

It started off great. I even got my workout in while my parents went to church.

2014-12-25 10.15.39

I may or may not have brought my laptop and workout DVDs with me…

When they got back, Dad mentioned he was hungry. “Perfect!” It’s Christmas! Why not make this morning special and grab something food and cocktails (emphasis on cocktails) before meeting up with the others?

2014-12-25 14.22.22

In my head, this was a glass of champagne and a pastry. We settled for Andy’s Diner. I had a slice of scrapple (It’s a Pennsylvania thing) and a Hurricane.

While the rest of the day went well, it was rather low key. I still wanted that extra “oomph” to really make it a day. I had a few ideas:

-Drinks at the hotel bar before bed.

-Room service (not nearly as fancy/expensive as you’d think) with drinks while watching “Love, Actually” (best Christmas movie of all time).

-No other ideas. This idea of a “perfect Christmas” just clicked into my head earlier and clearly one of these would work. 

…..neither worked. Everything at the hotel was closed. And I let it ruin my evening.

A few issues here: I didn’t plan ahead. I didn’t allow myself any other options. And I also didn’t allow the idea of that “perfect ending” to take place another night. (You can totally still watch “Love, Actually” before January 1st, even though it’s a Christmas movie.)

Ultimately for big and special events, we tend to set the bar pretty high without giving ourselves “breathing room” to let the evening go where it wants to go. Things come up. Places are closed. Some crucial aspect to your party don’t get there in time. (How are the ice sculptures coming for our party, by the way?)

On New Year’s Eve, focus on how you want to feel during the evening. Be aware it might not be “perfect.” Focus on what you can control. Personally, I want to have fun among friends I love, drink champagne at midnight, and laugh. A lot. I don’t want to feel stressed, and I definitely don’t want to feel like things “aren’t as good as they should be.”

Have fun tomorrow! Go out, get crazy. Or don’t. Do something low key. Whatever you decide on, make it fun and make it special.

Stress Free Holiday Tip

Talk to ya next year, friends.

2 thoughts on “How To Avoid A Letdown For New Year’s Eve

  1. Hi Tony!

    I loved this post 🙂 For my new years eve so far I’ve returned a horrible fishtank w. fish (minus the four that died two hours within being under my roof #XmasGiftGoneWrong) and i brought myself on a coffee date and then plan to get some organizing done. That quote at the end is so true. I was even thinking to myself “do I even always remember or care about what I did on NYE?”. Answer was no! There are 365 days out of the year to make memories when they’re meant to be made.

    Just wanted to say hi and let u know your writing resonated. So proud of you for keeping this up and staying committed. How are you?

    Katelyn

    tonyinchicago wrote:

    > a:hover { color: red; } a { text-decoration: none; color: #0088cc; } a.primaryactionlink:link, a.primaryactionlink:visited { background-color: #2585B2; color: #fff; } a.primaryactionlink:hover, a.primaryactionlink:active { background-color: #11729E !important; color: #fff !important; } /* @media only screen and (max-device-width: 480px) { .post { min-width: 700px !important; } } */ WordPress.com The Chicago Actor posted: “OH MY GOD IT’S NEW YEAR’S EVE. Okay. You know the drill. When there’s a big event you’re excited for, you have the date circled on your calendar. You put in lots of time and energy just thinking about it. Then there’s planning, lots of messaging back a”

    • I was JUST thinking about you, Katelyn! I’m so glad we’re still on the same page with our thoughts 🙂 Thanks for the kind words! I definitely need to hear this gold fish story soon. And it’s so true – we put all this pressure on ourselves to make our special day “perfect.” It’s really unfair to ourselves.

      I’m doing great! Some bumps in the road here and there….but without them, it wouldn’t really be life, would it? (Stop getting deep Tony) Sorry. But yes, things are going great and I’m excited for 2015.

      Happy New Year, Katelyn! Let’s catch up soon, yes?

Leave a Reply

