A cool trick, plus acknowledging when life’s hard

Earlier today I read a great blog post by Andrea Shulman.

It recommended checking your mood prior to “checking in” on your goal. If you’re not in a good mood, hold off on checking the goal. I loved this concept. I even jotted down a few to incorporate this with my fitness groups.

Later on, I sat down to write this lovely blog….except I didn’t check my mood. (It wasn’t positive).

Instead of writing, I checked facebook. I purchased a ticket to a show, checked my inbox to see how many messages I needed to get back to, and checked the Red Sox schedule to see how much longer I needed to wait to hear Joe Casitiglione’s voice. The last thing I wanted to do was write and tell all my friends how awesome and positive life is.

What’s the moral here? Actually, there’s two. They’re both important.

1) We can use the “check in with yourself” approach in any scenario.

I’ve caught myself thinking that I’m happier than I am because I know that’s how I want to feel. Be honest with yourself. If you’re not honest and can’t figure out how you actually feel, you’re not going to reach the better mood you’re striving for.

2) Reading positive books, eating better foods, and exercising daily is a great way to set you up for success. Just remember that you’re human and are still prone to bad days.

When reconnecting with friends, many comment on my positive posts, videos and statuses. I’m grateful they’re affecting others. At the same time, I fear I give off the impression that I’m always smiling, in a great mood, and eating raw vegetables.

You guys…

I have bad days.

I cry sometimes.

I often question whether I’m doing things right.

I catch myself comparing myself to others (when I know I shouldn’t).

And I really like cheese.

Going after goals is hard. There’s going to be a struggle. You’re allowed to struggle.

Check in with yourself. If you’re struggling, give yourself time.

And then, get back up.

Go get ‘em.

Leave a Reply

