#ShoutOutTuesday: Elise Spoerlein

It’s #ShoutOutTuesday!

 

I’m on a mission to be my most positive, healthy, and creative self.

I’ve decided to expand on this mission by shouting out cool people I connect with. These are people who are doing something with their lives who not only inspire me to be my best, but are doing cool work that I think others should know about.

 

This week’s #ShoutOutTuesday: Elise Spoerlein

 

Elise Sp

 

Who is Elise?

Elise Spoerlin is an actor and writer living in Chicago. She’s the Associate Artistic Director with Broken Nose Theatre – one of Chicago’s only “Pay-What-You-Can” Theatre companies.

If you’re an artist in Chicago, you’re probably no stranger to Elise – particularly over the past month. She wrote her first full length play, “A Phase,” which ran at the Den Theatre for a month through last weekend. She also played the lead. (And played it brilliantly.)

“Hey! I heard about that show! It was all over social media.”

No surprise. Elise and the Broken Nose team did a great job promoting it. To clarify, “great job” doesn’t mean getting the word out there. I think we’ve all seen examples of others who maybe post too much of the same thing over and over. (Election 2016, anyone? 😉 ) I even received a personal invite from Elise with an invite to the show. It wasn’t part of a group thread where I’d be getting extra messages from her high school friends about how they’d be working for the first four nights of the show, but might be able to make closing weekend.**

(Side note: I’d actually be fine connecting with Elise’s friends from high school).

Bonus points

As the run came to a close, the show was selling out left and right. For closing weekend, a few tickets opened up for Friday. I got another message from Elise – who remembered I had said I was going to try to make it that evening – offering me a ticket. I graciously accepted.

This ticket could have easily been snagged regardless. Yet she reached out to me. And no, we don’t hangout on weekends. (Though I’ve already bugged her and her boyfriend Spenser about meeting up for coffee.)

Your turn!

How you can help:

-Did you see “A Phase?” Give her a shout out of your own. Whether it’s a personal message or tagging her in a facebook status – let her (and others) know that you appreciate her work.

-Want to help out Broken Nose Theatre? Check ‘em out on facebook or their website. If you’re feeling extra generous, throw ‘em a few bucks.

-Don’t know Elise? Send her some positive vibes anyway. The point of these shout outs isn’t just to be warm and fuzzy (though I love my fleece Red Sox blanket). It’s to grow a network of positive, like minded people. Send her a message either here on the blog or on social media.

 

Way to go, Elise 🙂 Keep doing your thing and inspiring us.

 

______________________________________________________________

Have a friend who deserves a shout out? Shoot me an email at tony.rossi@gmail.com with the subject “Shout Out Tuesday” and let me know!

 

**Disclaimer: I’m all for promoting your work on social media 🙂 The purpose of highlighting Elise and Broken Nose Theatre’s contributions was to say they did so and did it effectively. Despite that we’ve all seen others who, maybe, haven’t done so effective – I’m proud of anyone who goes out there and is on a mission to create something awesome.

Keep doing your thing, friends.

Leave a Reply

