How I Won My Tuesday

Wanna hear about a time I kept failing, but still “won” for the day?

“Not really. You kind of talk about that a lot.”

Excellent. Allow me to share.

“Wait. Please don’t…”

It all began on a Tuesday evening…….

(beautiful music can be heard, as readers step into the world of Tony Rossi)

I was enjoying a planned cheat night, like I do. I came up with a couple of ideas of how I could spend my evening. My goals included the following:

-Get out of the apartment

-Spend as little money as possible

-Enjoy some drinks

-Make sure to leave the apartment

-Maybe get some work done

-Try and actually be around other human beings (preferably friends)

-Eat unhealthy food

-Did I say the thing about the apartment?

I had my intentions. I knew what I wanted. I even researched (via facbeook events) some fun things to do. I packed my bag and headed out. Here’s how the evening went down:

-I texted a friend who wasn’t available (Evening: 1; Tony: 0)

-I went to destination number one. It was more pricey than I thought. I left without purchasing (Evening: 2; Tony: 0)

-The second place had dollar beers AND dollar tacos. Unfortunately seemed to know this. It was crowded. I left without purchasing (Evening: 3; Tony; 0)

At this point, I was ready to throw in the towel. It was supposed to be a cheat night and I wasn’t happy. Furthermore, that negative voice decided to check in and say hi. He’d say things like how stupid I was for being a loner, not having enough money, not checking out places beforehand, etc. But I trudged on….I’m a little stubborn

I was biking towards home and approached a bar that I hadn’t been to in ages. I always wondering how it was since they underwent new management. From the outside, I couldn’t really tell. But I sure liked their sign saying, “$2 Sam Adams.”

Evening: 3; Tony: WINNER

We can be failing on our path to winning. Often those failures are telling us what not to do, so that we can get quickly find what we’re actually supposed to do. If you’re anything like me, you might find yourself getting discouraged by failure. The more we learn about them the quicker we can get to the success we’re seeking.

My story is obviously a small example of how you can fail your way to success for other areas of your life: relationships, jobs, etc. So my question to you is this: What are you going to do so that you can embrace failure, find success, and live a happier life?

“That’s an excellent question, Tony. I’m glad you asked.”

Right?

Go get ‘em, my friends.

Leave a Reply

