#ShoutOutTuesday: Kyle Gregory

It’s #ShoutOutTuesday!

I’m on a mission to be my most positive, healthy, and creative self.

I’ve decided to expand on this mission by shouting out cool people I connect with. These are people who are doing something with their lives who not only inspire me to be my best, but are doing work that I think others should know about.

Today’s shout out: Kyle Gregory

Kyle book

I mean, look at that face? What’s not to like. This picture from his facebook page currently has over 400 likes! 

If you’ve been following my blog, have known me for a while, or have seen one of my hundreds of “I love New England” facebook statuses, you know that there will always be a special place in my heart for my home. In particular, there’s a special place for my alma mater: Salem State University.

0429161146.jpg

The wonderful thing I’ve found since moving is that I don’t just have old friends to visit. I have new friends that I’ve made in the area since relocating. One of those friends is Kyle.

We met almost five years ago. Over the past year, we found ourselves crossing paths more frequently. Since then, he’s done a lot: He’s written a play (or five, for all I know). He’s gotten accepted into grad school. And most recently, he’s written a children’s story.

13312598_10201786052169171_6390735254865943482_n.jpg

Photo stolen lovingly from Kyle’s friend Kerri Turmenne

From Kyle’s facebook page:

Last year my mom approached me and asked “Why don’t you ever do any plays that Alexa can watch?” After thinking about this for a few weeks the idea of writing a children’s book had entered my mind. It might not be a play but I can finally announce that a children’s book for my niece is finally done. Although she will be getting the very first copy I decided that I might as well just make it available for everyone. Here it is…”Nimbly Wimbly and the Great Dry Drought.” A book written by me and Illustrated by my good friend Dan Carroll!” 

The beautiful thing about setting goals that benefit others is it gives us a push that we otherwise lack. When goals only benefit ourselves, we’re more prone to procrastination or waiting for the “perfect time to start.”

Let this serve as an example to include others in your goals. Even things such as career or health and well-being can help in different ways. Being the happiest, healthiest version of yourself makes you a better friend, family member, and person for your significant other.

Thanks for this reminder Kyle 🙂

For inquiries on how to get your hands on a copy, shoot me an email and I’ll notify you as it becomes available online. Additionally, you may visit the Salem Arts Festival in downtown Salem, MA on Saturday June 5th to buy one in person and meet the author himself!

UPDATE: You can also attend the “Nimbly Wimbly” LAUNCH PARTY!

Saturday July 9th at 1pm

King Phillip Yacht Club 

1 Club Street, Fall River, MA 02721

______________________________________________________________

Have a friend who deserves a shout out? Shoot me an email at tony.rossi@gmail.com with the subject “Shout Out Tuesday” and let me know!

Want an update each time there’s a positive post up here? Subscribe!

Be happy. That thing you’re worried about? Future-you isn’t even thinking about it right now 🙂 

Leave a Reply

