Positivity with Pet Peeves?

It’s hard to stay positive when you have your pet peeves.

A lot of people who read my blogs or watch my live videos assume that I don’t have any pet peeves of my own. Rest assured – I’m very #notperfect and have my bad moments.

This week, for example…

 I went to Starbucks to do some work. Without my laptop charger.

I value my time. Friends will tell you (and probably tease me for this) that if I schedule a call with you at 2pm, I will call at 2pm on the dot. You can imagine my reaction when I started setting up at Starbucks, only to realize I didn’t have my charger with me. I could easily run home and grab it. But that’s wasted time!

On the (very short) walk back to my apartment, I realized that I was actually stressed before even getting there. Of course the stress escalated once I realized I had wasted time. But the morning had gotten off schedule already, and I wasn’t in a good place mentally. Having to go back and take an extra walk actually allowed me to reframe my focus by the time I had all my things and was ready to work.

My laptop overheated and shut off. While I was in the middle of a webinar.

Again – I value my time. When I schedule things specifically around a webinar, I’m looking forward to watching it. When this happened (just yesterday), I was livid. I’m sure my neighbors are wondering why I’m always cursing….

Fortunately there was a replay link. However, by the time I had finished I was way behind schedule for the day. There was no time for Starbucks, lots of work to be done, plus I had errands to run before an audition. I decided to stay home – much to my dismay. I’ve been working on getting out of the apartment more (hence the Starbucks visits) and was concerned my work session would be ineffective.

Since I was staying home, I decided to try a tip I picked up from the webinar: Setting up a work space that’s just for work. With my studio apartment, space is pretty limited. Fortunately, I recently received a folding table for some of the brand ambassador work I do. I decided to take advantage and set it up. Maybe see if I felt any different as I got to work.

It. Was. Great. And I don’t know if I would have discovered this as quickly had it not been for my laptop shutting off.

0817161637.jpg

Give me a few more days, friends. I’m sure it will get even more messy. 

So what’s the message here? Both examples are things that I literally can’t stand: 1) Forgetting things and 2) when my laptop interrupts my work. Yet in both cases, something good came from it. I’ll be the first to admit the last thing I want to do is “look for the positives” when it comes to my pet peeves. Yet I discovered both of these positives that might not have happened if things went according to plan.

I hope these examples can help you with some of your own pet peeves, my friends.

Have an awesome week. Let’s go get ‘em.

Leave a Reply

