The BEST way to watch the World Series is…

I’ve had a routine all season. 

I listen to more games than I watch. I don’t have cable. I don’t pay to use MLB.TV. And listening is either free or costs me $2.99 a month. Add on top of that the fact that I can listen and get work done at the same time? 

It was exactly what I needed. 

I even learned I could listen to replays of the game with my lovely, cheap subscription. Between the Red Sox and Cubs, I was doing it all season. I got my baseball fix, kept up to date with my routines, and always had an option for something to put besides music for my days off. 

Of course, this gets tougher during the playoffs. Not only do you want to be there live, but you also tend want to watch instead of listen. After some initial reluctance, I eventually realized I didn’t mind listening to games during the post season. Sure, I had a few options that allowed me to watch on a delay, or see a multi-camera angle of the game that didn’t show replays. So that helped. I had found a routine and I made it work. 

But I still get stubborn. 

I still want to see live views and commentary of the game. And as things got better and better for the Cubs, I wanted to be able to have a special experience. And that’s when it hit me: I was living in Wrigleyville, could hear the ballpark, and had an opportunity that a lot of others would kill to have. 

So that’s how I’ve been enjoying the games: Listening to Pat and Ron on the Score. Watching a live feed, but on a (lengthy) delay. And listening to the sounds of Wrigleyville – whether the Cubs are home or away. As I considered options to watch tonight: At a friend’s apartment, at a bar, or somewhere “special,” I realized what I have is pretty damn special. (Note: I’ve also been walking down to the ballpark to watch the final inning from the TVs outside at Murphy’s Bleachers for some of the games!) 

Of course, not everyone has this opportunity. I’m guessing you don’t either. 

So what’s the best way for YOU to watch tonight? 

It’s whatever way makes you the happiest in this moment. Sure, you can try to find a special, perfect way to watch. I considered this too. But why change something that’s already working? 

Let’s go get ‘em, Cubbies. This has been an incredible 2016. Thanks for getting us here. 

1102161737a.jpg

Took this an hour before game time. There were a few others in the area…

Leave a Reply

