Don’t feel like being grateful? Well guess what…

…I hear you. And you know what? That’s okay.

Over the past two months, I’ve found myself less grateful, less positive and more grumpy. Part of it has been because of a setback to my workout routine. But other times, I realize everything is fine, dandy and I catch myself almost trying to be in a bad mood.

So if you ever feel that way yourself…

  1. Know that it’s okay
  2. Realize that if you do want to truly be happy….you can.

Don’t believe me? Here’s a story from recently:

I was grocery shopping. And I was in a terrible mood. 

Nothing was in it’s place. They were out of produce I specifically went there to get. It was unusually busy for the early time of day. I avoided eye contact with everyone. I kept making a point to avoid others as much as I could. And when I got to the check out line, I just set down my groceries and hoped I could get out of there as soon as possible. 

A mom behind me had a little boy with her. He was very eager to help, not to mention explore the checkout aisle in its entirety…This was the opposite of someone I wanted to interact with. I avoided eye contact and just waited my turn. Eventually I had to put my basket away, and he was standing…right next to the baskets. Even being in a bad mood, I wasn’t about to be rude to a child. I said, “Excuse me, buddy!” waited for him to make space and placed away my basket. Later on he accidentally placed some raisins next to my items. I gently put them back on his side. “Unless those are for me?” I joked. 

This didn’t turn around my entire day. But it did make me happier.

I realized that being forced to interact with the child made me use energy that I had previously didn’t want to use. It was a time where I thought, “I can’t even THINK about putting on a smile right now…” But because there was a child there – I found a way to make it work. I forced myself to muster the energy to be polite and friendly. 

And it felt good. 

It was a humbling reminder that no matter how often we want to stay in our negative mood or state, we always have the energy to be friendly and happier. It’s just a matter of whether or not we actually want to. Finding little nuggets like these though help make it easier in the future. 

Regardless of how you spend today, realize that you do, in fact, have that energy to be happy today. It doesn’t matter what Uncle Freddy says to you 😉

Happy Thanksgiving, my friends. Let’s go get ’em 🙂 thanksgiving .jpg

Thanksgiving 2012. I hosted….thankfully friends knowledge, food, and company rescued the day….that’s a story for another night 😉 

Leave a Reply

